Groups have two main contributors to a successful program: content and people. Having the right content is essential because you want to share content worth reading. Being a part of a Group is imperative to share the best content and be seen as an industry expert.
This article outlines the possible ways someone can join a Group to start viewing, contributing, and sharing content.
Join a public Group
Anyone can join a public Group at any time. Take the following steps to join a Group:
- Go to Groups.
- Select All Groups.
- Click Join.
Once the Join button is clicked, you'll then be a part of the Group and will be able to view, contribute, and share content from the Group.
Join a private Group
Private Groups are visible if your admin has created an Assignment to require or suggest the Group.
Required Groups are Groups you join automatically, and you do not need to take further action. These Groups will show in the Following tab.
Suggested Groups are not joined automatically; but, you can see them in the Groups tab under Recommended. Private Groups will have a lock icon next to the Group title to indicate it's a private Group. Click Join when you are ready to participate in the suggested Private Group.
Add people to a Group
Admin have the ability to manage more user permissions and access and can manage the Groups a user can see. There are two options to add team members to a Group.
🔸 This feature is accessible to Admin.
🔹 This is available on the Teams and Enterprise plans.
The most popular way to add people to a Group is to automate it using Assignments. Check out this article for more detail on using Assignments.
Adding people to a Group
Admin can add people to a single Group, without using Assignments, as long as the Group is set to Private.
- Go to a Private Group.
- Go to Members.
- Click the + plus icon.
- Type the person's name into the field.
- Confirm the selection and click Done.
🔹Note: If you want to add a person to a public Group, you must first edit the Group and make it private.