User Roles, States, and Posting Permissions

Andre Larsen
Andre Larsen
  • Updated

A Workspace has several ways to assign users responsibilities within a Workspace. This article covers two ways users are classified and users posting permissions. 

🔹 This is available on all plans.

🔸 This feature is accessible to Admin.

User roles

User roles assign default settings to your users. Each role can be assigned a different set of posting permissions within a Group but their basic permission levels are set by choosing one of three role options.

  • Admin—Admins have access to every feature of the platform and can manage users, posts, groups, and more.

  • Contributor—Contributors are a step above a Base-User and have the extra share and posting abilities that enable them to add suggested share copy and to mark posts as "Branded" 

  • Base-User—Base-Users can share and post content but do not have the ability to control what other end users can do. 

You can also Invite a User to your Workspace in Admin > User Management. You’ll need to assign them a role during the time of the invite. This role can always be updated at a later date. 

User states

User states are the status of users in your account. We have three available.

  • Active—A user who can access your Workspace

  • Suspend—A former user who can no longer access your Workspace or receive notifications.

  • Remove—Removing a user deletes their account from EveryoneSocial

User Posting Permissions

User posting permissions differ from user roles because posting permissions are specific to Groups and a user's posting permission within that group. 

There are five levels of posting permissions. The following list starts with the least privilege and ends with the highest privilege. 

  • Content Owner—This is applicable to the Base-User role. They are the Content Owner when they've posted the original content and they can only control their own copy.

  • Contributor—This is the Contributor role but has specific posting permissions. They have the ability to create branded posts, edit share copy, and edit user-generated body content. 

  • Group Moderator—Moderators can hold user roles for Base-User, Contributor, or Admin. If they are an admin, then their permission levels fall under "Admin." Moderators can edit the Group they moderate, approve/remove content, and edit share copy. 

  • Group Owner—Group Owners are the same as Group Moderators but have the capability to delete the overall Group.

  • Admin—This is the Admin role and they have all posting permissions available to them. 

🔹 Note: Group Moderators are only available on the Teams and Enterprise plans.

user_posting_permissions.png

FAQ

Can a user have different posting permissions in different Groups?

Users can have different posting permissions in different Groups. They will default to their role’s posting permission as Content Owner (Base-User role), Contributor (Contributor role), or the Admin (Admin role) unless a user created the Group and is the Group Owner or the user was assigned permissions to be a Group Moderator.

What happens if a member is suspended?

If an admin suspends a user, they will not be allowed to access the Workspace any longer. Suspended users will be notified on the login screen that they are in a suspended status. Their account can be reactivated at any time by an admin. Users who belong to multiple Workspaces can continue to access Workspaces that have not changed their user status to suspended.

There is an option to delete a user and their profile, which would remove them from all Workspaces and revoke their access to all of EveryoneSocial until another account is created. You'll want to reach out to EveryoneSocial's Support team to request deletion. 

What happens when a user is deleted from EveryoneSocial?

When deletion occurs, all Personal Identifying Information (PII) is deleted from our system (names, titles, emails, social media profiles) and removed from our downstream providers. Some of past activity remains. For example, if the user liked an article then that action does not disappear from the like count but any attempt to view the profile will only yield a “Deleted User” notice.

How can I assign a user the permissions of Group Owner and Group Moderator?

Great question! This is done within the Group itself. If you do not allow users to create Groups, you'll want to manually assign a user as a moderator or owner of a Group. If you do allow users to create their own Groups, then the user who created the Group is automatically given Group Owner posting permissions. Click here to learn how to allow users to create Groups.

Was this article helpful?

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.